PNE Online
Welcome to PNE-Online. Why not register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox! You can also join up as a forum Patron to help support in the running costs of the forum.

New North End book (Out Now)

Staffordwhite

Scribe to the Gods
Patron
Hi all,

Staffordwhite here. Some of you may know I’m a writer by trade who left the newspaper business last year.
Since then, I’ve been working on a new North End book that is coming out next Friday (SEPTEMBER 20).
It’s called North End Souls and features chapters by 15 North Enders in their own words.
The full list is: Graham Alexander, Lee Ashcroft, Craig Brown, Ricardo Fuller, Paul Gallagher, Joe Garner, Sean Gregan, Andy Lonergan, David Lucas, Chris Lucketti, Youl Mawene, Neil Mellor, David Moyes, John Thomas and John Welsh.
Mark Lawrenson has kindly done the foreword and ten per cent of profits (should there be any!) will go to the Gary Parkinson Trust (Gary’s son, Luke, has also written a piece for the book).
There’s plenty of good stuff in 284 pages, including the inside stories on some transfers (that did and didn’t happen), dressing room rows and pranks, managers, teammates and tactics - from Big John McGrath to Alex Neil and all points in between.
Oh, and there’s Michael Keane’s dog, obviously.
In all seriousness, while there are plenty of funny tales, all the players talk openly about some key moments over the past 30 years - the highs and the lows - and there’s lots of genuine emotion and feeling for the club. It was a privilege to talk with them.
It’s not a huge project and there’s a limited print run so, y’know, get ‘em while they’re hot, etc. :)
It will be available from www.northendsouls.com for £9.99 (plus £2.99 p&p) as a launch offer from next Friday, September 20, for a couple of weeks or so (£12.99 after that).