PNE Online
Welcome to PNE-Online. Why not register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox! You can also join up as a forum Patron to help support in the running costs of the forum.

Chess

I think if you've got good logic it helps? And are you not likely to be able to process moves a lot further in advance if you are good at maths? Isn't it all inter-related?
It probably is inter related but I’m not sure it’s a given. Chess is about logic and strategy, and patterns which are all important in maths. Being bad at maths at school can be as much that you’re not interested rather than necessarily being bad per se.
I’m no expert though, and it would be good to see what experts in the workings of the mind think.
Some of these things can be surprising, for example people who’re good artists also tend to be good at Maths.

It probably is inter related but I’m not sure it’s a given. Chess is about logic and strategy, and patterns which are all important in maths. Being bad at maths at school can be as much that you’re not interested rather than necessarily being bad per se.
I’m no expert though, and it would be good to see what experts in the workings of the mind think.
Some of these things can be surprising, for example people who’re good artists also tend to be good at Maths.

Well, I'm a shit artist (not piss, before anyone says it) and I'm shit at maths, so the inverse certainly proves your point.

OK, I signed up after that first trial game, and played my first. Which I lost...on time, sod it. The guy came at me all guns blazing and I had him down to a King and 2 pawns, then blew it.

I`m gonna need time, whilst so rusty.

If anyone fancies a 5 or 7 day game, my username is ShortfallOfGravitas. ( Bardas was taken).