PNE Online
Welcome to PNE-Online. Why not register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox! You can also join up as a forum Patron to help support in the running costs of the forum.

Fell Walking

Roger Mellie

Patron
Anyone on here who is into walking or has any tips or advice on the subject. I am a complete novice and i would like to get into walking as a hobby. I am reasonably fit but I find going to the gym 3/4 times a week a bit of a chore to be honest. I'm 47 so I am never going to have the same body as I did in my 20s/30s unless I make a lot of sacrifices like reduce how much alcohol I consume. I guess I am finally admitting to myself I am no longer a young whippersnapper.
Unfortunately my wife does not share my enthusiasm for us to go walking unless it involves walking round shops in Manchester/London.
Friday I have took the plunge and booked the day off work and I am driving up to the Lakes to Seathwaite to walk up Scafell via the corridor route which is approx 10 mile. I will be setting off from Fulwood. approx 6.45am so hopefully park up at 8.30am so should miss the crowds of holiday makers. Weather forecast looks good and from what I have seen online and YouTube, it's a pretty good path so I don't need to spend 💵💵💵 on equipment, though I do have some Aldi walking boots which I hope will suffice.
I'm just hoping I don't go arse over tit and have the shame of the mountain rescue bringing me down.
Any tips would be appreciated